Subscribe to Local Politics RSS feed

Local Politics

DISD Board discusses draft budget

The budget was the main item before the Denison Independent School District Board of Trustees Tuesday evening. The Board approved a draft of the 2014 – 2015 general operating budget to be given final approval at their August meeting.

Commissioners to honor David Hawley for years of service

Grayson County commissioners will take some time Tuesday to recognize a longtime public servant. Commissioners will recognize Grayson County Sheriff’s Lt. David Hawley for 34 years of service to the GCSO. Hawley will retire soon, but he isn’t going far. He was elected to fill the post of Justice of Peace in Precinct 1 earlier this year.

Tom Bean to talk city park during busy meeting

TOM BEAN — The Tom Bean City Council will take several steps toward the establishment of a new city park during its regular monthly meeting Monday, among several other items of business. The Council will hold a public hearing regarding annexation of the proposed park’s 2.4 acres into city limits. Additionally, Council members will discuss spending $2,500 on a feasibility study for the property.

Sherman to take action on budget, property taxes

After months of discussion on funding priorities, budget deficits, and fiscal options, the Sherman City Council is ready to act. During its regularly scheduled meeting Monday night, Council members will review a proposed, $65.3 million annual budget, which includes a property tax increase of 2.4 cents per $100 of valuation. After accounting for increases in property values, the effective tax increase would be 2.9 cents.

Contests and Promotions

Enter To Win
You Need a Vacation!
Click Here For Details

Commissioners to consider sending judge-elect to training

Grayson County Commissioners will consider, Tuesday, a request to send Grayson County Judge-elect Bill Magers to probate judge training. The request in the Court’s agenda information asks to send Magers to training in San Antonio in September. Magers will take over as Grayson County’s main budget officer in January and the job also includes probate duties.

Sherman Council filing period starts July 21

Any Shermanites hoping to add the title of “public servant” to their résumé will be able to take the first step toward that goal on July 21. The city of Sherman will begin accepting filings for election to the City Council on that date, and will continue accepting filings through Aug. 18.

Walmart grocer clears hurdle for 1417 location

After a controversial decision by the town’s Planning and Zoning Commission, Sherman is poised to become the latest city to host a Walmart Neighborhood Market grocery store. The Commission voted unanimously Tuesday night to approve the site plan for the store at the northwest corner of FM 1417 and Lamberth road in west Sherman. The plan will now face final approval in front of the full City Council, likely next month.

Commissioners quickly handle routine agenda

Grayson County commissioners didn’t take much time Tuesday dealing with their routine and short agenda. The Court approved several interlocal agreements and a few other items before recessing for just under a day. The group will reconvene Wednesday at 9 a.m. to talk about an economic development project codenamed Project David.

Local woman honored

Debbie Flanders of Sherman was selected to be honored at the Tribute to Women luncheon held last weekend in conjunction with the 2014 Republican convention in Fort Worth and sponsored by the National Federation of Republican Women. Flanders was selected along with Connie Huntington (not pictured) to be honored at the luncheon. Members of the Grayson County Republican Women’s PAC who attended the luncheon are from left: Kelly Ashmore, Robin Phillips, Barbara Woodroof, Esther Brumit, Flanders, Cheryl Gary and Sue Brackeen.

The day after, election wrap up begins

Just hours after the dust all settled from Tuesday night’s Republican and Democratic party runoff elections, candidates were out and about in Grayson County taking down signs and getting back to normal. Many sent out thank you notes to supporters and at the county’s new Elections Administration Building, the process of putting the election to bed began.