Bonham Education Foundation honors 2014 Texas Scholars

BONHAM — Twenty-two Bonham High School seniors have been named Texas Scholars by the Bonham Education Foundation. To earn this distinction, students had to complete requirements under the distinguished program, which include taking on extra and higher-level classes.

Students must meet several criteria in order to become a Texas Scholar, said Bonham ISD Superintendent Marvin Beaty. Among these is completing four years of math, science, English and history classes and three years of a foreign language. The students also must pass all standardized tests, complete one advanced placement or dual credit course each year, and fulfill eight hours of documented community service.

Among all BHS grade levels, 102 students total met Texas Scholar requirements this year. Beaty said he is proud of the students who have earned the Texas Scholars distinction.

“In a world where so many people look for the path of least resistance, these kids have gone the opposite direction,” Beaty said.

Since the 2012-2013 school year, Bonham High School has increased the number of graduates seeking post-secondary education from 31 percent to 73 percent, he said. Beaty said he credits the motivation of the students as well as support from families, teachers and community members for these improvements.

The following BHS seniors have achieved Texas Scholar honors: Ashlea Ashlock, Katie Barber, Nancy Bautista, Carly Biggers, Dustin Boatright, Kaleb Boehm, Chrysanna Craig, Destiny Dills, Erin Dona, Matthew Gregory, Hayden Higginbotham, Emily Mccutcheon, Daisy Montano, Myryha Patton, Kelsey (Alex) Pennington-Harrison, Kayla Sanmann, Kala Simpson, Cheyenne Sisk, Kendall Smith, Jordan Speck, Reid Strickland and David Wood.


Rules for posting comments